That Apple Watch looks pretty impressive, but can you get a traffic ticket for using your watch while driving in Florida? Probably!
In 2013, the “Florida Ban on Texting While Driving Law,” Florida Statute 316.305, went into effect. This law was intended to improve roadway safety and prevent text-related crashes.
Under this law, it is illegal to drive “while manually typing or entering multiple letters, numbers, symbols, or other characters into a wireless communications device or while sending or reading data on such a device for the purpose of nonvoice interpersonal communication, including, but not limited to, communication methods known as texting, e-mailing, and instant messaging.”
Although the term “wireless communications device” is defined as as a handheld device, it is unreasonable to believe that an Apple Watch, with some of the features of a smart phone, would not fall under this definition.
Don’t risk getting a traffic ticket, or worse, endangering others, keep your hands on the wheel. Remember, no text is worth a life.
TicketFit is a traffic ticket law firm that fights all tickets issued in Miami-Dade, Broward, and Palm Beach County. Call us now at (305) 775-3720 and speak directly to our attorney.
Speeding tickets are the most common traffic ticket issued in Florida, including Miami-Dade and Broward County. But how serious is a Florida speeding ticket?
14 MPH OR LESS OVER THE SPEED LIMIT
Getting a traffic ticket for going 15 mph or less over the speed limit carries with it a fine along with 3 points on your driving record. The amount of fine is usually listed on the back of the ticket and is determined by each individual county. For example, in Miami-Dade County it’s a $219 fine. In addition, just one speeding ticket can affect your insurance premiums.
What are your options? You can pay the fine and get the points, attend traffic school if eligible, or contact our speeding ticket lawyer at (305) 775-3720 and fight back.
15 TO 29 MPH OVER THE SPEED LIMIT
A speeding ticket for going 15 mph or more over the speed limit carries with it a higher fine, up to $294 in Miami-Dade County, along with 4 points on your license. Again, you may pay the fine and receive the points, pay the fine and elect traffic school, or fight your speeding ticket and protect your license.
30 MPH OR MORE OVER THE SPEED LIMIT
Driving 30 mph or more over the speed limit will require a mandatory court appearance. Simply paying the fine is not an option. In addition, if you are found guilty of speeding you can be facing an even higher fine, 4 points on your license, andlicense suspension.
Fortunately, an experienced speeding ticket lawyer can attend court on your behalf and fight to keep your license in shape.
50 MPH OR MORE OVER THE SPEED LIMIT
If you are charged with driving 50 mph over the speed limit you will be facing a $1000 penalty. On a second offense, the fine is up to $2500 and your license will be revoked for one year. On a third offense you will be criminally charged with a third degree felony, a fine of up to $5000, and the loss of your driver’s license for up to 10 years.
Because of the seriousness of a speeding traffic ticket, it is important to hire an experienced speeding ticket lawyer who will fight to keep points off your driving record. At TicketFit, our speeding ticket lawyer is skilled at challenging speed measurement devices and using other strategies to fight your Miami-Dade or Broward County speeding ticket.
A criminal traffic violation charge means that you have been suspected of committing a traffic violation punishable by fine, jail sentence, or both. In addition, points may be assessed against your Florida driver’s license.
Driving Under the Influence
Driving with a Suspended License
Leaving the Scene of an Accident
In criminal traffic cases, you must appear in court (unless represented by an attorney in most cases), and failure to appear results in a bench warrant being issued for your arrest.
Civil Traffic Infractions
A civil traffic infraction charge means that you have been suspected of committing a non-criminal traffic violation punishable by fine only. However, points may also be assessed resulting in higher insurance rates and suspension or revocation of your license.
These violations are further classified as either moving or non-moving, depending upon whether your vehicle was in motion at the time of the offense.
Examples of moving violations include:
Running a Stop Sign
Improper Lane Change
Following Too Closely
Making an Illegal Turn
Examples of non-moving violations include:
Not wearing a seat belt
No proof of insurance or registration
Because of the serious impact a traffic ticket can have on your driving and criminal record, it is extremely important you consider your options carefully!
and at any time, contacting an experienced traffic ticket attorney, such as TicketFit, to protect your driving and criminal record.
At TicketFit, our traffic ticket attorney can help you achive no points, no school, and a dismissal of your case or fine reduction. Call TicketFit now at (305) 775-3720 for a free consultation.
When you are issued a traffic ticket in Florida, also known as a “Florida Uniform Traffic Citation,” the ticket serves as legal notice that you have allegedly committed a traffic offense.
Although the gibberish on the ticket can be confusing and overwhelming, all Florida traffic tickets should contain the following information:
A Citation Number
Printed in bold on the upper right hand corner of the traffic ticket, the ticket/citation number is a series of letters and numbers that frequently begin with the letter “A” and is used by the court to track your case.
The County of Issue
Located on the upper left hand corner of the traffic ticket is the county in which you received the ticket, and if you plan on fighting it (you should!), this is also the county in which your trial will be held.
Because the county of issue may not be the county in which you live in, you should consider whether you want to personally contest your ticket, or hire an experienced traffic ticket attorney, such as TicketFit, to attend on your behalf.
Your Personal Information
Your personal information comes next, and should include the date and time of the alleged traffic offense, your full name, address, date of birth, driver license number, and vehicle description.
Although minor errors are not enough to dismiss your case, a ticket issued to the wrong person or under the wrong driver license can be!
Following your personal information, you will find the most important portion of your traffic ticket, the charges. This section should clearly state what offense you have allegedly committed, comments pertaining to the offense, the statute that was violated, and whether the traffic offense is criminal or civil (non-criminal) in nature.
Because errors and omissions made here can violate your due process rights, it is no surprise that our experienced traffic ticket attorney has dismissed many traffic tickets based on this section alone.
At the very bottom of the traffic ticket is the signature block, and for most traffic offenses, Florida law no longer requires that you sign it.
At TicketFit, our traffic ticket attorney gets calls about red light camera tickets all the time, and although everyone’s initial reaction is to fight back, we want to make sure you understand how these violations work first.
A Florida red light camera ticket is different than a traffic ticket issued by an officer. That’s because unlike being pulled-over and receiving a ticket in person, you won’t know you ran a red light at a “photo enforced” intersection until you are mailed a $158 Notice of Violation, a $277 Uniform Traffic Citation, or worse, a Notice of License Suspension.
Have you received a $158 Notice of Violation? [updated 4/16/15]
Within 30 days after you allegedly run a red light, you will receive a Notice of Violation in the mail.
At this point, you should consider the following:
If your violation occurred in Broward or Palm Beach County, you should contest it. A recent ruling has made these violations illegal in these two counties.
If your violation occurred in Miami-Dade County, this ruling does not directly apply. However, there is still a good chance that your case will get dismissed, if contested.
To contest a Notice of Violation, you simply disregard the due date on the notice and wait for the “Uniform Traffic Citation” (see next section) to be mailed. If you prefer to pay it, however, you will not incur points on your license nor will your insurance premiums increase, as a Notice of Violation is not a traffic ticket.
Have you already been mailed a $277 red light camera ticket?
If you fail to pay the Notice of Violation by the due date, a $277 red light camera ticket (known as a “Uniform Traffic Citation”) will be issued to you by certified mail within 60 days.
Upon receipt of a red light camera ticket, you have 30 days to contest it. At this point, there’s no going back. You can no longer pay the initial Notice of Violation and we advise you not pay the fine, as doing so will result in a conviction on your driving record.
Fortunately, an experienced traffic ticket attorney, such as TicketFit, can help. Our traffic ticket attorney will request a court date and fight aggressively for that dismissal. Call us now at (305) 775-3720 to get started.
Has your license been suspended due to an outstanding red light camera ticket?
If you forget to satisfy your red light camera ticket within 30 days, your license will be suspended. If that’s not enough, your $277 ticket will go to collections where it will DOUBLE in price!
Because driving with a suspended license is a serious traffic offense, it is extremely important you contact our traffic ticket attorney at (305) 775-3720 for immediate assistance! In most cases we can waive your late fees, lift the suspension, and avoid a conviction on your driving record.
Speeding, careless driving, or running a red light are obvious reasons to get pulled over, but getting stopped for any of the following violations may surprise you:
1. Expired Tags
In Florida, driving with an expired tag is a serious traffic offense. If your tag expired within the last six months, you will be issued a traffic ticket with a monetary fine. However, if your tag expired more than six months ago, you may be facing arrest, criminal charges, and, if convicted, jail time.
Don’t get pulled over for an expired tag, look at the expiration date on your license plate. Is it expired? Renew it online; and if you have already been issued a ticket, call our traffic ticket attorney at (305) 775-3720 to fight back!
2. Driving With a Suspended License
While there is no good reason you should knowingly be driving on a suspended license, your license may sometimes be suspended without your knowledge. This is particularly common if you recently moved and failed to change the address on your license, as any suspension notice will be sent to your old address, or if you have an outstanding traffic ticket that you are unaware of.
Fortunately, it’s easy to avoid getting pulled over for Driving While License Suspended. If you recently moved, update your address, and if you want to check for outstanding traffic tickets, call our traffic ticket lawyer at (305) 775-3720 for a free consultation.
3. Improper or Unsafe Equipment
Driving a vehicle without functioning break lights or turn signals is not only dangerous, but an easy way to get pulled over. However, the most common “equipment” related reason to get stopped in Miami-Dade County, are for illegal tints.
Avoid getting pulled over by checking your car! Are all lights working? Are the side mirrors attached (no duct tape please)? Any cracked windows? As for those tints, take your car to a local window tinting shop to make sure they are in compliance with Florida tint laws.
Hopefully you won’t get pulled over for any of the above reasons, but if you still do, contact TicketFit at (305) 775-3720. Our traffic ticket lawyer handles all traffic tickets issued in Miami-Dade, Broward, and Palm Beach County, including traffic tickets for expired tag, driving while license suspended, and improper or unsafe equipment.
Nothing is more exciting than receiving a red light camera ticket in the mail. Especially if a $277 fine is attached to it!
Fine, fine… we all know Florida red light camera tickets suck. Fortunately, avoiding them doesn’t have to. Here are three things you can do to prevent a ticket:
1. Look for the Photo Enforced Sign
As you are approaching the intersection the first thing you want to know is whether a red light camera is installed. Luckily, this is easy; just look for the “Photo Enforced” sign that should be posted within a reasonable distance from the intersection.
2. Pay Attention to the Stop Line
Next, you want to pay attention to the stop line.
A red light camera is triggered by a sensor that is installed around this line, so if you want to avoid getting a ticket, it is very important you know where to stop when that light turns red.
If the back tires of your car pass this line before the light turns red, the trigger will not activate and the camera will not flash.
If the light turns red and you stop right over the line, the trigger will not fully activate but the camera may flash once. Don’t worry, you won’t receive a red light camera ticket for this.
However, if the light turns red and your vehicle is behind the line, you better stop, or the trigger will activate and the camera will flash twice; resulting in a very expensive ticket!
3. Know When to Make a Right Turn
Although Florida Law does permit right turns on red, they must me made in a “careful and prudent manner” and at intersections “where right-hand turns are permissible.”
So if you plan to make a right turn on red, you better be sure it’s allowed at that intersection.
How would you know? Either a separate “No Turn On Red” sign will be posted or the bottom of the “Photo Enforced” sign (see first photo above) will say that it “includes right turns.”
And there you go! Hopefully I just saved you from an expensive red light camera ticket, but if you still happen to get one in Miami-Dade, Broward, or Palm Beach County, call TicketFit at (305) 775-3270 for a free consultation. We’re available 7 days a week.
By far, the most common traffic tickets we defend are tickets for speeding. However, not all speeding tickets in South Florida are created equal.
Although driving as little as 5 miles over the limit can result in a fine and points on your driver license, speeding 30+ mph over the speed limit is a serious traffic offense with even harsher consequences.
Mandatory Court Appearance
If you were cited for driving 30 mph or more over the speed limit in Miami-Dade, Broward, or Palm Beach County, you don’t have the option to just pay the fine (which I would not recommend anyway as it would be an admission of guilt) or to elect a driving school, the speeding ticket is automatically set for a hearing with mandatory court appearance.
Because court appearance is required, you must attend the hearing or hire a traffic ticket lawyer to attend the hearing for you. Otherwise, your license will be suspended.
Speeding ticket fines are already expensive, ranging anywhere from $200 to $500 in Miami-Dade and Broward County, but if you are found guilty of driving 30+ mph over the speed limit, your fine may reach up to $1,000. In addition, some judges will suspend your license.
Points on Your Driver License
Florida works on a point system, and every time you are cited for speeding, points may added to your driving record.
A speeding ticket for driving 15 mph or less over the speed limit carries with it 3 points; however, speeding 30+ mph over the speed limit can result in 4 points on your license, and 6 points if it resulted in a crash.
Excessive points lead to the suspension of your driver license. Points are also used by your insurance company to determine whether or not to raise your premiums or deny coverage completely.
First, you will not have to attend the arraignment (first court date listed on your ticket) or any subsequent hearings.
Second, and more importantly, an experienced speeding ticket lawyer has the skills necessary to aggressively fight to get your ticket dismissed, negotiate a smaller fine, or, at a minimum, keep points off your driving record.
So before you waste time in traffic court, spend money unnecessarily, and put your license at risk, call our traffic ticket lawyer at (305) 775-3720 for a free consultation. Go ahead, fight back!
Careless driving is defined under Florida Statute 316.1925 as any person who fails to drive in a “careful and prudent manner.”
You can be issued a traffic ticket for careless driving if you were allegedly speeding, weaving through traffic, following another vehicle too closely, or if you were involved in an accident and the officer blamed you.
However, before you pay that ticket and automatically get points on your driving record, which can result in higher insurance rates and suspension of your license, here are three reasons you should always fight back:
1) Accident Reports Are Inadmissible in Court
Does the accident report show that you were at fault? Who cares! Florida Statute 316.066 clearly states that “no such report or statement shall be used as evidence in any trial, civil or criminal.”
In other words, accident reports are inadmissible in court.
2) The Officer Didn’t Witness the Accident
In almost every “careless driving” case the officer did not witness the accident, so he or she is unable to testify against you in court.
Because the officer cannot testify against you, the only way you can be found guilty of careless driving is through the testimony of witness or other drivers at the scene.
3) Most People Have Never Testified in Court
Police officers testify in court all the time. They are familiar with the elements of a traffic offense and know what needs to be established for the traffic ticket to stick.
On the other hand, most individuals never see the inside of a courtroom, let alone have to testify in one!
A good cross-examination of a witness by an experienced traffic ticket lawyer can demonstrate just how difficult it is to prove that you were driving carelessly. The witness may not remember what they observed 3 to 4 months ago at the accident scene, or they may not describe the facts with enough detail to convince a judge that you are at fault.
Are You Ready to Fight Your Careless Driving Ticket?
So without an accident report, a police officer testifying against you, or a convincing witness, it should be clear why careless driving tickets are among the most often dismissed tickets in our office and should always be fought.
So you just moved into a sweet new place! Maybe it’s got a better view, a bigger kitchen, or an indoor rock-climbing wall (call me if it does). Now the fun part… unpacking boxes, buying new furniture, and changing your Florida driver license address! Wait, seriously!?
Here are 3 reasons to change your Florida driver license address:
1. To Avoid Outstanding Traffic Tickets
Not all traffic tickets are issued in person; red light camera tickets and toll violations are mailed to the address registered with the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, and if you fail to inform them of your new address, you may end up with outstanding traffic tickets.
2. To Avoid a License Suspension
Most traffic court notices are mailed to the address registered with the Department, and if you fail to comply with a court notice, you may be facing license suspension for failure to appear.
3. To Avoid a Traffic Ticket
Florida law requires you to update your address within 10 days after moving, and if you fail to do so, you may be issued a traffic ticket with a hefty fine.
Convinced yet? Renew Now!
Fortunately, updating your Florida driver license address is easy! You can change your address online at www.gorenew.com or just print this form and update it by mail.
However, if your license has already been suspended due to an outstanding traffic ticket, or you’ve received a ticket for “failing to change your address within 10 days,” contact our traffic ticket lawyer immediately at (305) 775-3720 and we’ll fight for you!